Final Update on the Blanket

At this point in my independent learning project, I have, for the most part, completed what looks to be like the first row of my blanket.  I have tried really hard to keep up with the project and the class, but I am going to be completely honest.  This summer has been incredibly difficult.  Everything that could have gone wrong this summer has, and I do not feel as though I have done as well as I could with the project and with the class as a whole.  Therefore, I apologize for not being as engaged with the class and everyone involved with it as I should have been.

IMAG1441
Retrieved from Flickr.com: CC by Martin Deutsch

Regardless, I have managed to complete most of a row, or most of, most of a row if I want it to be bigger, of the blanket and am trying to decide if I want the small gaps in the design to remain open or if I want to fill them with additional squares.  If I do fill them with additional squares, I was thinking something along the lines of white, blue, or more red.  Since the blanket is for my mother, I asked for her opinion.  She said that she liked the idea of the red, but that the blue would also be really good since it would be reminiscent of KU’s colors.  For those of you who do not know, KU stands for “Kansas University” which is the major college really close to where I am from.  Their mascot is the Jayhawk and their colors are red and blue.  My mother is rather a fan of them and even attended the college for a semester right out of high school.

most of a row.jpg
Most of a Row… and it will probably be done by the end of the day today

 

jayhawk.jpg
Retrieved from Flickr.com: CC by FHKE

As such, at some point I am going to have to go out and purchase blue yarn to complete the project, but that is probably going to have to wait for a while.  At this point, it looks like my mother and my younger brother might have to move in with me, but that it is a relative uncertainty as to when that will happen.  It is clear that it will happen, but the question now is when.  Right now, I am having to take some of my mother’s more treasured possessions back with me when I go back to Chadron.  As it stands, I am going to have to take my mother’s vanity, a couple of nightstands, books, and miscellaneous objects that she wants to keep in good condition and put them in my spare bedroom.  This is because not only is the house’s basement infested with brown recluse spiders, but it also leaks, has mold, and is home to multiple vermin.

3 thoughts on “Final Update on the Blanket

  1. It sounds like you have had a stressful summer, hopefully things will get better for you and your family. I really like how your blanket is turning out. It’s so sweet that you are making it for your mom. I’m sure it is something she will treasure for many years to come.

    Like

    1. Thank you. It is really hard to piece together knits, as I have come to find out, because each individual piece is unique from the next. They may look the same, but each stitch in each row varies subtly and causes it to be more or less flexible and fit better or worse along the edges of other pieces.

      Like

  2. I am impressed! One row or one square you’re doing way better then I could!!! I totally know what you mean with summer being busy and hectic, sometimes things just get a little crazier then we’re ready for!

    Like

Leave a Reply

