Get Crafty or Die Trying

As a person, I have always been fascinated by craftwork.  The thought of making something that someone is able to use and that contributes to their health and happiness has always been important to me.  Cooking has satisfied this desire very successfully as has learning to sew and administer CPR.  When I was in high school, I took classes that aligned with these project goals and had a lot of fun while doing so.  I also began to take art classes as well because I also wanted to make things that people could just enjoy such as drawings and paintings.

When I became a college student, this love of craftwork translated into wanting to make things for myself as well as my friends and family, so I began to research how to build a computer and how to code because technology entered into my sphere of interests.  I put that project down because classes and classwork kept me from having the time to continue, but I plan on continuing to learn to code at a later date.  I also began to pick up learning a second language again.  When I was in high school, I took four years of Spanish and I decided to refresh my knowledge on my own as a college student.  Again, I had to put down this project as I do not have the time available to dedicate to this project that it needs.

knitting.jpg
Retrieved from Flickr.com: CC by Manisha B.

The freedom to learn what I want to learn when I want to learn it has always been important to me, so nowadays most of my learning outside the classroom involves copious amounts of research and trial and error.  I oftentimes look for free websites, videos, step-by-step guides, and other sources to get started and then continue with the project.  At this stage, I think that I have a start with, if I have not fully completed, projects that align with the things that I want to know how to do.  My learning projects are almost always driven by whim, and this is especially true of the craftwork projects.  If I had to think of two things that I really wanted to know how to do, I would say that I want to know how to do woodwork and I want to know how to fix cars.  The biggest reason for such desires is that they would be useful skills to have, and I think that I would have a lot of fun while learning these skills.  However, these are definitely skills that I would not want to learn on my own for fear that I would injure myself, so I will have to hold off until a later date.

Either way, I am somewhat stuck between two different ideas for my independent learning project.  The first thing that I want to learn to do is cross-stitch.  I grew up watching my grandmother sew beautiful images onto blank spaces, so that is a goal of mine.  The second thing is that I want to learn how to knit a blanket.  I started teaching myself to knit not very long ago, but there is a huge chasm between sewing a basic scarf and making an entire blanket, so that is also a goal of mine.  At the moment, I am leaning more towards the making of a blanket and started working on the first section of it yesterday.  I am hopeful that it will turn out well and will try to upload pictures at each stage of the project.

7 thoughts on “Get Crafty or Die Trying

  1. Amanda,
    Nice post! I too love craftwork projects! I am currently in the process of making a scrapbook based on all of the pictures that I have of my fiancé and me. I try to stay caught up but at the moment I am little behind because of school and work. But I love decorating the pictures and choosing different backgrounds and adding stickers, dates and little comments on each page to go with the pictures! I think it is so much fun as well as relaxing (when my cat doesn’t try to help that is…) I also really like making things that people can use and giving them as gifts because I think they have more meaning to them rather than just buying something off the shelf. Even getting something custom designed and then having a store make it for you I think is meaningful because you have to put the time in to configure the pictures, colors, or whatever you want the object to say. I also like having those random skills like you were saying. Last semester in two of my college classes I learned how to perform CPR. I was ecstatic when I found out I was going to learn that because I think it is a super skill to have. The good Lord forbid ever having to use it but just in case… I admire your love of artsy creative things.
    Skyler

    Like

  2. I didn’t realize you were so crafty/craftsy. I think a blanket is a great project for this course. The students who make things through the project really seem to be happy about what they’ve done at the end of the semester: they literally have something to show for their time in the course!

    Like

  3. I liked your post! I think it would be awsome to learn how to do crafts. I used to try and try to do crafts and I wasn’t good at them so I would just get frustrated and quit. I think your idea on making a blanket is a great idea. That would be fun and something you could use! I am definitely jealous of your craft skills! I would love to be able to do things like that!

    Like

    1. Thank you! Have you ever tried to make tie-blankets? I don’t know if that is actually what they’re called, but they’re the ones that you take the two layers and then knot them together around the edges. This is a really bad description, but they’re so cool.

      Like

Leave a Reply

