School’s Out for the Summer, but Reading Is Not

What YA books do you still have on your TBR (to be read) list?

To be quite honest, I have no idea how many of the books on my TBR list are YA.  My list was mostly created because the titles interested, they fell under a category that I want to expand my knowledge in, or they were recommended to me by friends and classmates.

How are you going to challenge yourself this summer?

I am taking three courses over the summer and I plan on getting a job to supplement my income in the interim before I can go back to work in the CASS/ENG-HUM offices next semester.  However, with this in mind I am definitely still planning to challenge myself in a manner similar to the #bookaday challenge.  I know that a book per day is going to be too much for me as I work through my classes, after the classes are over I might be able to up it, by one every two days is definitely a reachable goal for me at this juncture in time.

When and where are you going to read?

I am going to probably read in the evenings since I usually use reading to wind down from the stresses of the day.  I like to curl up on a couch or in a comfy chair with a snack and a beverage as part of my reading routine.  I get motion sickness far too easily for reading in the car to be an option, but if I have free time, usually while cooking, I’ll pick up a book and just knock out a good chunk of it by the time breakfast, lunch, or dinner is done.

How will you make sure reading remains a habit?

Reading has always been a habit for me.  The only time I stopped reading is when my teachers in high school decided that quantity trumped quality.  I was never one for SparkNotes, and I always felt weird about not completing the reading, so by the time I finished the required reading, on top of the rest of my homework, it was usually midnight and I was far too exhausted to even think about picking up a book for pleasure.  The weekends were out too since I had homework even on those days.  I would always get back into the swing of things over the summer and read selections from either my own shelves or the local library’s.  Now that I am in college, I am still going to have to use the summers to get caught up, but even that’s problematized with the need to hold a job and quite a few hours each week in order to pay bills and maintain my post-college nest egg, but I am going to try really hard.

How will you make sure you’re finding terrific books to read?

I am finding many great titles and reviews from WordPress blogs, Twitter hashtags, Goodreads reviews, and suggestions from other social media sources.  I know that personal preferences will often inform reviews, but I always pay careful attention to the reviews that discuss oppressive language and plot points.  While I may still read these titles, this will be in order to know what exactly is going on and how to prepare for students that may be impacted by such rhetoric.  I want my classroom to be a safe space for students, and perpetuating oppressive dynamics through the literature I provide them is counterintuitive to my goals.

summer pic
Sourced from Nana B Agyei on Flickr
Leave a Reply

