Book Review for The Hunger Games

Yes, the time has come.  I finally bowed to the pressure and picked up The Hunger Games.  To be honest, I was not avoiding the book so much as I had lacking time and reason to really read it until this YA Lit class.  After hearing all of my friends and family rave about it, I went into this endeavor with high hopes, but I was kind of disappointed.

I mean, I was not disappointed by the style of writing or the subject matter, but I was disappointed by the way it ended.  At the beginning, about ten pages in, Katniss makes it clear that there has never been anything romantic between her and Gale.  Later events in the book give cause to question whether that lack of romanticism was one-sided or not, but that does not erase the fact that the lack exists for her.  However, by the end she is questioning having any sort of relationship with Peeta because of what she has with Gale.  The only problem is that there is nothing between her and Gale!  This makes it feel as though the author felt a love triangle would make everything better, but it absolutely does not.  The lack of reason for it and the utter absence of evidence to support it make it feel forced and trite.

Additionally, it must be said that I found some of the plot pieces to be completely ridiculous in their execution.  For example, I was okay with the mutated wolf-things until, all of a sudden, they had the eyes of the dead tributes.  There was no reason for this, the wolf-things were fine on their own.  The aforementioned love triangle was another big one, and the unrequited love that the baker had for Katniss’ mother was almost completely unnecessary.

Overall, I actually enjoyed the book.  I enjoyed how the familial dynamic between Katniss and Prim translated into a protectiveness for Rue.  One of my favorite parts is how Katniss managed to avoid directly killing anyone until Rue was murdered.  This kept her lethal actions from being the wanton destruction that Cato exhibited and instead stayed strictly within the realm of making Katniss more than a governmental plaything.

Conclusively, it must be said that I give The Hunger Games a 3.75 out of 5.

The Hunger Games

4 thoughts on “Book Review for The Hunger Games

  1. I haven’t read it yet either, but I did go and see the movie. I hated the premisses of kids killing kids. It turned me off from the novel and from ever seeing the next movies in the series. I’m glad the writing was good and it was enjoyable. I’m trying to convince myself to try it out, but still working on it.

    Like

  2. I am about to finish the first book of this serious. Are you going to continue reading? I have watched the movies, and thought it would be interesting to see what is different in the movies compared to the books.

    Like

  3. I definitely loved the Hunger Games books. They made an impression on me. You brought up a couple points that I had though about as I was reading. I did not like the eyes on the mutated dog things, and I was rooting for Peeta the entire time and was so mad at how the series ended on that aspect. Thanks for mentioning those points.

    Like

Leave a Reply

